What is your legacy?

Several years ago, I came up with the anagram L.E.G.A.C.Y. which I now use as the focal point and purpose of this blog. Simply stated, it means Living Effectively Guarantees a Continual Yielding. Said another way, how you live your life becomes the seed that you daily plant and becomes the future harvest for years to come.

 

 

In the bible, it is written in Proverbs 13:22 that, “A good man leaves an inheritance [of moral stability and goodness] to his children’s children…” (AMP) Legacies, like possessions are transferrable and passed on from one person to another, one generation to another. Like an inheritance, legacies also are not isolated to just a monetary form.

I am a firm believer that it’s not a matter of if you will leave a legacy, it’s a matter of what kind of legacy it will be and will it be lasting. Regardless of who you are, how old or young, how wealthy or poor, how well known or obscure, or even how educated or how uneducated you are, the life you live is establishing your own personal legacy.

 

  • The Blessing of a Well Laid Legacy. Establishing a lasting legacy ensures that not only the things that matter to you last beyond your own lifetime, it means that those who are impacted by your life carry on something sustainable and are enriched and not left morally, emotionally, financially or purposefully in a deficit.
  • The Curse of a Poor Legacy. A corrupt legacy leaves you soon forgotten and those whom come after you are left morally, emotionally, and financially bankrupt and purposeless.

In my personal as well as professional life it is my faith, character, virtues, values and passions for life that I desire to become my legacy. I encourage you to give considerable thought today, this week and in the months to come the kind of legacy you will no doubt leave for others in your circle of influence, be they family, friends, colleagues or even casual acquaintances. Seek out what legacy you’re leaving. Make it a good and lasting one.

 

Question: Do you know what kind of legacy you are leaving?

2 comments

  1. Kellie James · · Reply

    I absolutely live this. Its positive! I’m loving the acronym and this is really making me think about MY legacy.

    1. I’m so glad you enjoyed my first post. I endeavor to make this an ongoing thing. I hope that you will continue to check in and let me know your thoughts. I appreciate it. The acronym is something that is something I not only want to live out, but pray people will take to heart. That would be a good legacy for me.

Leave a Reply

Get a life

Discovering the life that began after my comfort zone

snasocialwear

Immanuel, praise His name by all means necessary!

BE COURAGEOUS BLOG

NEVER LET GO OF GOD'S HAND

The Word Center

Centered on Christ, The Word, and Holy Scripture

Zetta's Desk

The electronic desk of author/editor/publisher Zetta Brown

A FUSE Movement

"F.U.S.E. is more than a magazine! It's a movement!"

Manna from on High

My tongue is the Pen of a Ready Writer Ps. 45:1

