Coming to the End of a Thing

 There is nothing greater than the feeling you get when you’ve completed something. I recently concluded my first term in a new school. Working towards my goals of higher learning is of great significance to me. Since I have some big dreams, each step toward that end is a major milestone. I have no doubt that you’ve at one time or another shared a similar exhilaration from accomplishing something.

Mardi Gras Marathon, New Orleans. Crossing the...

Image via Wikipedia

     What amazes me more is the knowing that when it comes to the things of God, He has already completed all that He intends to do. God completed us before we got our start. We are merely catching up to the finished work that God set in motion time within the midst of eternity. I take great encouragement that all I need to do to see my end result, is to keep plugging away.

Paul said it best, “I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.” That is exactly what I am doing every day that I wake up. I’m pressing toward an expected end. My goal is to see that the destiny that God has laid out for me gets accomplished in my life. So much is riding on my getting to where God purposed for me. I want to see it as much as anyone could hope to imagine.

  • One Small Step at a Time: You don’t have to do it all at once. Even God took six days to create, and then rested on the seventh. The astronauts who first landed on the moon first took one small step for man before taking the giant leap. Small steps build character, establish track records, and prevent overwhelming you with what you aren’t able to handle. You can only live one day at a time, so deal with life in the same way. When walking a flight of stairs, taking too many steps at a time is a sure set up for a fall.
  • Encourage Myself: Every once in a while you have to build yourself up through an encouraging word to remind yourself that you are able to do what you were put here to do. Times do get tough, but God gives you only what you can bear. Even King David had to encourage himself in order to face many of the difficult tasks that were put before him.
  • Accept Help When Necessary: God gave us other people because he knew we couldn’t do it all on our own. As soon as we realize that we don’t have to bear the burdens of life all on our own, we find that there is a synergistic ability to do exponentially much more than we ever thought possible on our own.
  • Pace Myself: Since the bible declares, “that the race is not given to the swift or the strong, but to the one that endures,” I endeavor every day to go at the pace that is best for me. I’m not trying to compete with others, but with my own ability to do what I am able. I find that I am less stressed when I don’t have the added pressure of the notion that I have to be better than someone who is not me.

Doing these simple things will build you up in such a way that once you’ve met your goal, you will have such a sense of fulfillment in getting things done, that you won’t hesitate the next phase. So be encouraged. You’ve got what it takes to get to that next stage. Take it minute by minute, hour by hour, day by day, week by week and month by month.

QUESTION: How do you feel when you’ve come to the end of a thing?

2 comments

  1. Thanks. This is very encouraging, as I am starting a new chapter in my life this year. God bless!

    1. I’m glad to hear that. It’s always a wonderful feeling to have that fresh new beginning. I pray that you will find it to be rewarding and fulfilling.

Leave a Reply

Get a life

Discovering the life that began after my comfort zone

snasocialwear

Immanuel, praise His name by all means necessary!

BE COURAGEOUS BLOG

NEVER LET GO OF GOD'S HAND

The Word Center

Centered on Christ, The Word, and Holy Scripture

A FUSE Movement

"F.U.S.E. is more than a magazine! It's a movement!"

Manna from on High

My tongue is the Pen of a Ready Writer Ps. 45:1

