Why I am Thankful for My Father

November can be an awkward month at times. The reason for that is because it is both the month that my father was born, and the month that he passed away. The difficulty in it is that my father died at a very young age. There is no doubt in my mind that I have always loved him. He was the best father a kid could ask for, even though Sickle Cell Anemia rob us both of his life and his presence.  

Photo taken by me as an example of a stay at h...

Photo taken by me as an example of a stay at home dad and kids. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

One of the best things about my father is that in those few years that I knew him, he left a legacy and a mark on those who knew him, that I cannot go anywhere that he went, without someone who knew him recounting the kind of man he was. He was a man of great character and strength. There are many reasons why I wanted to be just like him, yet there were few reasons why I did not envy him.

It’s hard to be envious of a person who dies so young, yet he lived so hard, even in his diminished capacity, that this is one thing I rather marvel and desire. It’s hard to be envious of someone who carries the weight of ministry in the way that he did, yet I could not escape the call myself, and dream of making a mark of influence and change lives like he did.

I’ll never had, nor will I have the many talks with my father that so many people either take for granted or appreciate in hindsight. All I’ll even have, are the stories of those who knew him, and a  vestige of him in the manner of writings and books to give me a glimpse of who he was and what he thought.

It’s because of this that I determine to make sure that with all that is within me to make sure that my children know me. I live for the day that they can say, “I know and love my father.” I have the privilege at this time of being able to spend more time with my children than most fathers do. I’ve been able to see them roll over, take their first steps, say their first words, and many other firsts that are often only witnessed by mothers because so many fathers today are either absent or tirelessly working.

In this month of Thanksgiving, I am greatly thankful to God for having given me a father in whom I can envy from afar, and imagine that I’m a measure of who he was, yet still uniquely me. I am thankful that I can still be to my children what I believe he would have been to me, had he still lived on. If you still have your father with you, and you love him with all your heart, I pray you let him know. If you don’t have your father, and you loved him, I pray you’ll cherish the memories. If your relationship with your father is strained or you never knew him, for whatever reason, it is my prayer that your heart be mended and that if there is any unforgiveness, you’ll find the wherewithal to forgive.

QUESTION: What about your father makes you thankful?

One comment

  1. […] Why I am Thankful for My Father (apreachaskid.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Get a life

Discovering the life that began after my comfort zone

snasocialwear

Immanuel, praise His name by all means necessary!

BE COURAGEOUS BLOG

NEVER LET GO OF GOD'S HAND

The Word Center

Centered on Christ, The Word, and Holy Scripture

Zetta's Desk

The electronic desk of author/editor/publisher Zetta Brown

A FUSE Movement

"F.U.S.E. is more than a magazine! It's a movement!"

