It Permeates Every Part

Recently I was reading about how Jesus described the Kingdom. In Matthew 13:33 (HCSB) Jesus says that the Kingdom is like leaven or yeast that a woman might take and puts into 50 pounds of flour. He says that this yeast spreads throughout all of the flour. That image always amazes me; especially now. As a child growing up, I can remember winters snow days where my mother would be home and one of the things she would do would be to make homemade beef stew and yeast rolls. She would take out her flour and these little packets of yeast. It wasn’t a whole lot in comparison to the amount of flour that she used, but once it was mixed in and she set it above her stove for a short period, what was once a small amount of dough tuned into this large mass that was enough to make dozens upon dozens of rolls for us to enjoy with the stew during seasonal snowfall.

English: Atlantic Ocean (Nov. 15, 2005) - Airm...

English: Atlantic Ocean (Nov. 15, 2005) – Airman Alberto Mata and Seaman Michael Perez prepare dough to be baked into dinner rolls in the bakery aboard the nuclear-powered aircraft carrier USS Enterprises (CVN 65). Enterprise and embarked Carrier Air Wing One (CVW-1) are currently underway conducting Tailored Ship’s Training Availability (TSTA). U.S. Navy photo by Photographer’s Mate 3rd Class Milosz Reterski (RELEASED) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

For me, this brings the understanding of the type of people that we as Christians are to be. Since we represent the Kingdom of Heaven in the Earth, we bring heaven earthward. This means that all that heaven is changes all that earth is until it feels like heaven throughout. We have the opportunity everyday to reveal His Kingdom everywhere we go and in all that we do, so that when people encounter us, they in essence encounter what Heaven is like.

Have you ever experienced a moment where you came into contact with someone and after only moments in your presence, they utter words like, “There’s just something different about you”? Maybe they’ve said something that lets you know that they were feeling one way before you got there, but after a brief encounter everything changed. It happens to me quite often.

My most recent moment has been in passing a certain woman who works for a company that is right across from the school I attend. She would come out around a certain time of the day, often around the time I was either going to or leaving a class. It was for her break, which most often meant it was a smoke break. One day while she was on one of her smoke breaks she stopped me on my way home and just said, “There’s just something different about you.” I stopped and talked to her for a few minutes. She eventually asked me to keep her in my prayers and to let my wife know what a wonderful husband she had.

We would see each other periodically during that semester, all the while I was praying for her deliverance from smoking and that things would change for her which she asked me to keep her in prayer for. As the end of the year approached, I stopped seeing her outside. I thought to myself, perhaps it’s because God delivered her from smoking. Sadly, it was because she had hurt herself in a fall which prevented her from working for several weeks. When we caught up with one another after the new year came in, she relayed to me how much she had missed seeing me walk by because there was just something special about me. While she has not completely stopped smoking, she did mention that it had reduced in how often she smoked. She also relayed to me the changes that have occurred for her, her family, and her job. All this, I could attribute to the piece of heaven that she was experiencing from our encounters.

When we remember that the Kingdom resides in us and that God through us transforms situations, circumstances, people and the communities in which we live, the Kingdom is allowed to permeate all of these things to become more like heaven and greater than it could hope to be all on its own. Let this be the year that you encounter more moments where people are saying how much greater they feel when you are with them. May this be the year that people have greater hope, love, joy, and testimonies of things being better, simply because you revealed the Kingdom to them.

QUESTION: What experiences have you notice when the Kingdom permeates into the places you go?

Leave a Reply

Get a life

Discovering the life that began after my comfort zone

snasocialwear

Immanuel, praise His name by all means necessary!

BE COURAGEOUS BLOG

NEVER LET GO OF GOD'S HAND

The Word Center

Centered on Christ, The Word, and Holy Scripture

Zetta's Desk

The electronic desk of author/editor/publisher Zetta Brown

A FUSE Movement

"F.U.S.E. is more than a magazine! It's a movement!"

Manna from on High

My tongue is the Pen of a Ready Writer Ps. 45:1

