Father’s Day is an Opportunity to Learn By Example

Recently I decided to take another run through the book of Proverbs. As I was reading on one particular day I came across the fourth chapter in which Solomon points out the invaluable gift it was for him to have received great wisdom and understanding from the example set by his father David. It reminded me of how important it is for a child to have that time, instruction and impartation from his/her father.

Even now as we approach Father’s Day, I am reminiscing about the example set forth for me by my father. Although my father died when I was only eight years old, there is yet a legacy of hard work, determination, work ethic, love of family, friend, and others that I can look to as some of the very virtues I too desire to convey to my own children.

The wisdom we can take today from a man like Solomon is that we can learn from our father’s lives; both successes and failures. If we are able to look at their lives and learn the lessons that are laid out before us, we can cancel curses of repeating their failings, just as we can carry on the legacies of their successes.

I can look to the many hardships my father faced as a minister and seek greater wisdom from god to know how to minimize those hardships in my own ministry to others so that I’m not burdened in the same ways that it did him. I can see the great care he took to love and protect his family and endeavor to put that much effort and more into my own, so that they will know the kind of lineage they come from.

As you set your attention to this upcoming Father’s Day, it is my hope that if you had a good father, you will look to the examples he set forth for you to follow which were good, so that you can repeat them. It is also my hope that if you did not have a good father, you can likewise look to the examples that were bad as a model of what not to do, so that you might break a generational stronghold for those who might come up in your footsteps. Whatever your relationship has been for you, an example of one kind or another has been set forth. Choose to learn from the example.

QUESTION: What lessons have you treasured learning by the example set by your father?

Leave a Reply

Living Proof

A Day Comes When You Are Not Afraid To Share Your Testimony!

Get a life

Discovering the life that began after my comfort zone

snasocialwear

Immanuel, praise His name by all means necessary!

BE COURAGEOUS BLOG

NEVER LET GO OF GOD'S HAND

The Word Center

Centered on Christ, The Word, and Holy Scripture

Zetta's Desk

The electronic desk of author/editor/publisher Zetta Brown

