Why You Should Be Paying Attention to Your Body

In the interests of being fully transparent, I’d have to admit that I’ve not always paid the greatest attention to my personal wellness like I know I should. In part, it had a great deal to do with the fact that over the course of the years, I’ve dealt with issues like being without health insurance, finances weren’t always available in the way I felt it should be, and there were even times when I simply just didn’t feel like it. That’s not to say that I never cared. However, I know deep down that some of those things are excuses I told myself.

Image Credit: FreeImages.com

Image Credit: FreeImages.com

As a person who believes that it is such an important thing to leave a legacy for my family, part of that has to include my desire to live long for my family. If I don’t pay attention to my body in the way I know I should, the odds are far greater that I will shorten my lifespan by the sheer fact that I’ve neglected my body.

I made a commitment to myself that this would be a year that I focused more attention on my physical wellbeing, and to that end, my wife and I joined our local YMCA and a Recreation Center this summer. When my wife and I walked into the YMCA, I wasn’t sure I’d fit in with the people there. Of course, you’ve seen the commercials for some of those big box gymnasiums where they promise no intimidation. Well, when I walked into this place, there truly was none to be felt. So, in light of this adventure into the mode of fitness, what are my reasons as to why you should pay attention to your body?

You Only Get One: The obvious reason is that you only get one body. Whether you live with Sickle Cell Anemia like me or not, you’re not going to have the option of switching bodies to live longer. So the reality is that you have to take the best care of the one you have, the best way possible. That includes exercising it.

It Clears The Mind: I don’t know about you, but there is something so amazing about getting into the gym that gets the creative mind flowing. Whether I’m on the treadmill or the cycle, I have the opportunity to think about things other than what I am usually focused on when I’m somewhere else. As a writer, this is something that I find is very beneficial.

The Bible Tells Me So: Some people will focus on scriptures that say that “the training of the body has a limited benefit (1 Timothy 4:8).” It doesn’t say that it doesn’t benefit at all. It mere points out that to place so much emphasis on the physical health is a temporal thing in comparison to the eternal nature of our souls. However, until that time when we are eternally in His presence, we have to also be a good steward of our bodies, because we have a mission to fulfill in the here and now. The only way that will be accomplished is through caring for our bodies as good soldiers who need to be fit for the fight.

Your Body Can Tell The Difference: When your body is being regularly worked on, and when you are paying attention to your body the way you should, your body functions at a greater capacity than it would if you did nothing. The one thing that really impressed me about one of the trainers that I spoke to on yesterday, besides his familiarity with the needs of a person with Sickle Cell, is that he knew what it means for the body to be able to get the oxygenation in the blood system and not overstressing joints and muscles.

People Are Watching: You owe it mostly to those you love and care for to pay attention to your body because they are relying on you. You are a role model and example to them whether you know it or not, or accept it or not. People will see you and either have great admiration for what you do, or they will always worry about you because you didn’t do all you could do.

Ultimately, your body has to be able to handle everything that you do and everything that is required of you. You need your body to be at its optimum so that you can give your best to what you do in life, as well as who you do it for. Whether that is your family, your business or employer, your community or your ministry, you have to pay attention to your body so that you are well able for as long as you are able.

 

QUESTION: Can you think of some other reasons why you should be paying attention to your body? Share your thoughts?

One comment

  1. […] Why You Should Be Paying Attention to Your Body (apreachaskid.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Living Proof

A Day Comes When You Are Not Afraid To Share Your Testimony!

Get a life

Discovering the life that began after my comfort zone

snasocialwear

Immanuel, praise His name by all means necessary!

BE COURAGEOUS BLOG

NEVER LET GO OF GOD'S HAND

The Word Center

Centered on Christ, The Word, and Holy Scripture

Zetta's Desk

The electronic desk of author/editor/publisher Zetta Brown

