Why This Month Has Been Devoted to Prayer

So the month of September has now passed by without so much as another thought for most people. The month of October has seemingly come in just as quickly and quietly as it pleases. Yet, for some strange reason, you can sense that something is obviously different is happening. It’s like the whole world is in anticipation of something that you just can’t quite put your finger on. If you’re like me, you may have a prophetic sense about a shift in the air. Whenever I start to get this sense of something major on the horizon, much like I have during the latter part of September, my heart perks up to ask the question, what does it all mean?

Image Credit: FreeImages.com

Image Credit: FreeImages.com

So much is happening all around us. If you’re paying attention to the news, you can’t help but see signs of something big going on all around you. People all over the East Coast are focused on the hurricane that is easing its way up the Florida Coast. There are all sorts of tension in the air. It’s almost as if the storm itself is a reflection of this increased awareness and awakening.

When you look around that the things taking place all across the nation and even the world, you’re seeing things like mass shootings, racial upheaval, and Christian religious opposition on the rise. Add to this the appearance of Blood moons and water being found on Mars. Then there is global unrest because of the economy, the debate over Iran and their nuclear plans, the crisis in Syria, Planned Parenthood, and even strained relations with Israel. You may have even noticed the recent passing of prophetic voices or an increase in many falling ill almost in sudden fashion. It’s all pointing to something that the body of Christ must take note of.

It was quite intriguing to me to note President Obama’s address after yesterday’s mass shooting at an Oregon Community College. His comments that it seemed to be the same story over and over again, with him responding the same way over and over again. That response being, that something must be done. The underlying emphasis being a plea to legislators to put some bill before him that will “ensure American’s safety” by banning guns. Obviously, that hasn’t worked. From my point of view, it is indeed time to try something different.

As for me, I’ve felt this urgency and calling to pray. As I am dedicating the month of October to praying about all these things and more, I’m asking those of you who also feel this call to dedication and consecration to join me this month. I will be daily sharing my heart via Periscope and Facebook the thing that I will specifically be praying for on each day. Yesterday was dedicated to Global Repentance. Today’s emphasis will be on National Repentance.

Many of you are well aware that during the month of September, Jews and many Christians celebrated Rosh Hashanah, the Jewish New Year, as well as participated in Yom Kippur which is the day of atonement. The first seven days of this Call to Fall have specifically been focused on a call to atonement. When there was great upheaval in the earth, God called righteous men and women to call the people to atone for the sins of the nation. In some instances, the prophets themselves were interceding on the behalf of the entire nation, crying out for God’s mercy and grace to be spread abroad.

While we know that Christ has indeed atoned for every sin upon the cross, we must always remain humble and tuned to the heart of God. We must be sensitive to hear those things that God would want us to address as stewards of all that He has placed us here to restore, redeem, and recover. I am excited for those of you who are feeling the urgency and are joining me in this hour. I’m praying for you also. I’ll be looking forward to hearing from you as you share with me what God is speaking to you during this season.

 

QUESTION: Have you sensed this Call to Fall? Will you pray with me? Share your heart at this time those things that you are feeling and prophetically sensing.

2 comments

  1. Yes, I will join you in prayer! I want to share with you that God put it on my heart last week to focus on the topic of prayer on my blog for the month of October. I will be posting starting Monday. I’m excited when God brings confirmation. Thanks for your obedience and encouragement.

  2. God bless you for tuning your heart to follow His leading. I’m so glad that you are joining in the call to pray. I look forward to your confirming testimony of everything you hear as well.

Leave a Reply

Get a life

Discovering the life that began after my comfort zone

snasocialwear

Immanuel, praise His name by all means necessary!

BE COURAGEOUS BLOG

NEVER LET GO OF GOD'S HAND

The Word Center

Centered on Christ, The Word, and Holy Scripture

Zetta's Desk

The electronic desk of author/editor/publisher Zetta Brown

A FUSE Movement

"F.U.S.E. is more than a magazine! It's a movement!"

