Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad Blab?

Within the last year, there have been many innovations in the area of social media technology and communication. With the introduction of Periscope and Blab, I’ve been able to observe those changes and even engage in ways I never previously perceived I’d be able to. If you’re looking at the title of this blog and wondering what exactly I’m talking about, then I’ve at least done my job in piquing your interest. If not, I hope that what comes after causes you to give it a second glance. Blab-owl-loading-e1441846861241

For those who may not be familiar with Blab, it is a social media format that some have compared to Google Hangouts or Skype. I liken it to hosting your own personal little party where all are invited to come, but you as the host get to decide who is able to sit at the round table to talk. A maximum of four people can share screen time, and people can come in and out of the hot seats as you the host sees fit.

Although Blab has been around for almost a year now, it’s still new enough that people are still discovering it and getting acquainted with the possibilities that it provides. I think this is a good thing. It’s one of the main reasons I’m actually considering hosting my own Blab. I actually have a few other reasons. They include:

The Opportunity To Get My Message Out: Anyone who carries a message is always looking for new ways to get that message out. It’s all about testing what works, what methods doesn’t, what makes the most sense, and what provides the best opportunities. I’ve had the opportunity to sit in on other people’s Blabs, participate as a guest, and even most recently co-host. It’s all provided me with the opportunity to share my heart, the message God has given me the privilege to carry and enables me to add value to others. I consider those to be a great big plus.

The Potential To Sharpen My Skills as a Communicator: No one can say they have communication down perfectly. Even those who are at the top of their game in the public speaking, mentoring, coaching, and teaching arenas will tell you that they are always working at becoming better by honing their skills. Iron sharpens iron and Blab offers a great way for sharpening your communication skills.

A New Avenue to Build a Platform: If you have something you feel is of value to provide the world, you need a platform. The more avenues of building your platform, the better you have of broadening your reach to direct them to your own hub. New avenues provide an additional opportunity to engage people who might not connect to you in other ways. It also is a way to draw in others who might not have previously had the privilege of hearing you through other means.

The Opportunity to Remove Fears: If you have had any fear of speaking to others publicly, Blab provides a way to speak in a forum that can be somewhat less fearful to approach. Whether the Blab is on the record or off the record, you’ll find that it can be quite liberating. The ability to record and replay a Blab can provide you with the ability to go back and see where you need improvement, as well as provide you with the opportunity to gather thoughts for a future Blab should you realize that there was something you could have said previously that you may have overlooked or forgotten to mention.

So whatever your apprehension(s) may be or have been, don’t allow your fears to inhibit you from joining, exploring, participating, or starting your own Blab. You never know who you’ll meet or what you will learn from the process.

 

QUESTION: If you have tried Blab, what has been the best part of the experience for you? 

3 comments

  1. I honestly had not heard of blab. After reading your post, I’m going to check it out. Thanks

  2. […] into another realm of social interaction. Some of you may have read my previous post entitled Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad Blab. If you haven’t read it, you can click the above link and check it out. For those of you who […]

  3. […] built upon common ideas and understanding. If you are unfamiliar with Blab, read my posts “Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad Blab?”  or “Will You Be Watching When I Blab My Heart […]

Leave a Reply

Get a life

Discovering the life that began after my comfort zone

snasocialwear

Immanuel, praise His name by all means necessary!

BE COURAGEOUS BLOG

NEVER LET GO OF GOD'S HAND

The Word Center

Centered on Christ, The Word, and Holy Scripture

Zetta's Desk

The electronic desk of author/editor/publisher Zetta Brown

A FUSE Movement

"F.U.S.E. is more than a magazine! It's a movement!"

Manna from on High

My tongue is the Pen of a Ready Writer Ps. 45:1

