Mountains Shift When You Prioritize Praying

I have been thinking over the past few days about prayer. One of the things that I love about my time in prayer is that it allows for me the opportunity to really get in tuned to the heart of God the Father, Son and Holy Spirit. Recently, as I have been thinking about prayer, it occurred to me that there are times when my prayer life is more intense, in-depth, more impassioned and endearing than at other times. I come to this understanding because I realize that much like anything else, the pushing and pulling on my life ebbs and flows just as much as all other demands on my life.stock-photo-15441894-friend

I recently started a new job where I am blessed to see myself in a new position upon the mountain of education. I know that I have a unique call on me to have influence on several of the mountains of societal and cultural influence. However, I did not know that my position upon this particular mountain would manifest in the way that it has. I am blessed to also be surrounded by others who recognize the value and purpose in being where we are at this time and season. Because of this, I find myself praying differently and with a newness and freshness that I have not had in quite some time.

What I find intriguing about praying at this time and season is the acknowledgement that prayer is intensely personal. That is not to say that it is private, although there are private times for praying. As I think about it, I am reminded of how Jesus would go off to a place to be alone to pray. That would be an example of private prayer. Yet, what I am talking about is the personal prayer in the sense that when you pray, it becomes intentionally personal between you and God. There are times even in the midst of others where prayer can be quite personal because there is an understanding that the thing you are praying for, there is a vested interest not just for you but for those with whom you have invited into the throne room of prayer.

Christ in Gethsemane (Christus in Gethsemane),...

Christ in Gethsemane (Christus in Gethsemane), oil painting by Heinrich Ferdinand Hofmann (Heinrich Hofmann). The original is at the Riverside Church (Riverside Church, New York City). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

When Jesus went to the Garden of Gethsemane, he invited his closest of disciples to pray with him. His expectation is that they would feel the same burden for the time and season that they were embarking upon as he did. The mere fact that they fell asleep proved that they had not developed that personal heart for prayer has he hoped that he had cultivated in them.

In the revelation that this season for me is a time to get more personal with God for the mountain I am on, I am also sensing the heart of others and praying more intensely as a result. What I hope comes of it will be the manifestation of a great shift for others who are also on the mountain and those who have yet to find their place. Much like Jesus who realized that satan had a desire to ruin Peter, I know that the mountain of education is a strategic place and pivotal for so many souls. I know that it will either be a place of great awakening or of a great falling away. It’s my prayer that the awakening is what takes place.

QUESTION: What do you hope to achieve when you prioritize prayer?

Leave a Reply

Get a life

Discovering the life that began after my comfort zone

snasocialwear

Immanuel, praise His name by all means necessary!

BE COURAGEOUS BLOG

NEVER LET GO OF GOD'S HAND

The Word Center

Centered on Christ, The Word, and Holy Scripture

Zetta's Desk

The electronic desk of author/editor/publisher Zetta Brown

A FUSE Movement

"F.U.S.E. is more than a magazine! It's a movement!"

Manna from on High

My tongue is the Pen of a Ready Writer Ps. 45:1

