Greater: Dream Bigger. Start Smaller. Ignite God’s Vision for Your Life

When I picked up Steven Furtick‘s book Greater: Dream Bigger. Start Smaller. Ignite God‘s Vision for Your Life, I knew that it had been out for quite some time; at least four years to be exact. I also know that I’ve had a considerable amount of opportunities since it was originally released, where I could have actually read it. I supposed that just as the Chinese proverb goes, “When the student is ready, the teacher will appear,” aptly applies in this instance. This book absolutely impacted me at a time in which I really needed it.

Greater Cover Art

Greater Cover Art

I must admit that over the last four years my life has seen a great transition. It’s actually quite improved compared to what it looked like at that time, and even more different than it did eight years ago. However, around the time that I picked up this book, I had been in bad shape physically. I had been hospitalized with pneumonia and the very first sickle cell crisis I’ve experienced in about 6-7 years.

What gripped me about Steven’s book Greater was this one key point that he emphasized throughout the entirety of this easy read. It was that “greater is about dying to mediocrity”. Whether you look at the life of David, the life of Elisha, or even your own life, what takes you from a life of average or mediocre living is daring to be humble and dying to self, allowing God to do in and through you whatever He wills.

What I love about Steven Furtick’s book is that it is very plain language that is not convoluted. In its simplicity, he states his case for how anyone can live a life that’s greater, no matter how poor or how great you think your life may actually be. I believe that anyone who dares to pick up this book will find value in it and be challenged to live greater than they are currently living. In as much as I have been released from the hospital and resumed much of my normal activities, there is a fire now lit for me that dares to make my life and my future greater.

 

QUESTION: Do you dare to live a life that is greater than what you are currently living? What does that look like for you as you look to each new year, month, week, or day?

Leave a Reply

Get a life

Discovering the life that began after my comfort zone

snasocialwear

Immanuel, praise His name by all means necessary!

BE COURAGEOUS BLOG

NEVER LET GO OF GOD'S HAND

The Word Center

Centered on Christ, The Word, and Holy Scripture

Zetta's Desk

The electronic desk of author/editor/publisher Zetta Brown

A FUSE Movement

"F.U.S.E. is more than a magazine! It's a movement!"

